I choose to be happy

I think a lot. And with thinking a lot comes an enormous amount of different theories, all of which are not always nice. For that reason there have been times in my life when I was extremely unhappy. Depressed even (and, believe me, I don’t use this word too lightly). I believe that getting over these times has been one of my greatest achievements hitherto. Of course I hope and believe that’s not it and now there’s no more growth for me. There will be lots or I’m a failure! 🙂

But about how I’ve chosen to live and maybe that could also be a decent read for other people. I have chosen happiness. I made that choice some time ago and believe I’ve been quite successful at it. Although I might not lead a life considered normal (and therefore worthy of being a happy one) by the standards of our society today, I really and genuinely am happy. I am a single mom who is not interested in finding a new partner. It is sometimes hard for people to wrap their minds around the fact that a woman chooses to live alone. You may sometimes find me walking along the streets of our little town with a silly smile on my face. That’s not a sign of something to be worried about. It’s just me. 🙂

Smiling is an important part of being happy. You’ve probably read about it in articles or social media. It might feel and seem a bit weird at the beginning. Just smiling to yourself (especially for a northern person like me who is just not used to nonsense like this). But it really works. Biochemists have found that smiling releases serotonin that is a brain chemical that acts as a natural anti-depressant. So, there you go! You can really cheer yourself up with just a smile (but smile on the inside as well as the outside to really make the magic happen). And a smile also releases endorphins which are natural pain killers and also help your body fight illnesses.

An other good thing is autosuggestion. Well, it is a technique developed by Émile Coué at the beginning of the 20th century. You can check it out if it sounds interesting. Of course there are also other theories and techniques. I have actually never followed any techniques, including Mr Coué’s, but I have done it in a more natural way. I have learned, with the help of my great and very smart dad, from early childhood to look into myself and analyse and guide my thoughts and feelings in order to make myself happier and feel good about my life. I must admit, it was quite tough at the beginning. But practice makes perfect (perfection, obviously, is a far cry from where I am in my development at the moment).

The third way for me of keeping myself happy is surrounding myself with nice and positive people. I really do not like conflicts and loud arguments, so I tend to search for tolerant people with positive mindsets. Although, I must admit, I am not always a very quiet person (and neither are my closest friends), but my (and their) loudness usually comes out in fun situations. 🙂 Although, my inner monologue is always very intense. But I will write on that topic sometime in the future.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to teach anybody how to live their lives. I have just learned some lessons in my life and would really love to share them. Maybe there are people who will benefit from them. Maybe not. I hope the former. 😉 Anyway, I hope you like this blog and I will quite probably write more about this or similar topics in the future.

So this time my blog turned out like this. I really choose to be happy. What about you? Look inside yourself and find out. 🙂

 

Be nice! Have fun!

Anni

Leave a Reply

